Nova Nova

Listen by clicking on the links below


1. You Said

2. Parting

3. Serious Undertaking

4. Samba Lucia

5. Nova Nova

6. Para te ver

7. Moving On

8. Wooden Shoes (For Sara)


CD Information


Piano Louise Denson

Bass Helen Russell

Drums Paul Hudson

Tenor Sax James Sandon

Trumpet/fluglehorn Lachlan McKenzie


"This is a lovely album from pianist Louise Denson's excellent Brisbane Quintet. It features faultless playing by superb professionals ... In full flight this is basically a hard-bop quintet, but playing with typical Australian insouciance, without the hard edge of African American exponents of this genre. It's more West Coast than New York. The warmth in the music suggests the inspiration of a sunshine culture. Eight cleverly arranged compositions by Denson produce beautiful improvisations from all players. Congratulations to sound engineer Mark Smith, whose sophisticated knowledge of how jazz should sound is evident. The near perfect sound balance here is what sound technicians should be aiming for at their live gigs. It's particularly pleasing to luxuriate in the crisp sound of Denson's piano solos in the mix, and to experience McKenzie's gorgeous sound on the flugelhorn. Turn up the volume and enjoy."

- Eric Myers, Review (Weekend Australian)

Website by Signature Software