Clean Start



01 Upstart

02 Sanctuary

03 Ineffable

04 Clean Start

05 Low Moon

06 Green Tristano

07 Mare de Agosto

08 Seamless Sea

09 Sonando de ti



CD Information

Queensland Recording Association Sunnie Award  - Best Jazz CD 2003


Louise Denson (piano)

Tony Hobbs (tenor sax)

John Hoffman (flugelhorn)

Phil Noy (alto sax)

Helen Russell (bass)

Joe Marchisella (drums)

David Allen (congas)


“A neat collection of nine original jazz numbers…”

- Trent Dalton, Brisbane Magazine


“…  a superb band… [a] sublime title tune … the lovely ballad Low Moon to the sizzling brass and intricate up-tempo rhythms of Green Tristano…”

- Noel Mengel, The Courier-Mail


“ … [an] excellent collection … elegant ballads … finger-clicking rhythms from Cuba and Brazil.”

- The Courier-Mail


“…[Denson’s compositions] are not just improvising vehicles, they are pieces, which, with their rhythmic momentum and attractive chord changes, all but ensure that strong improvisations emerge…”

- John Shand, Limelight Magazine


“The Louise Denson Group’s beautiful Low Moon is reminiscent of American pianist Brad Mehldau at his most restrained…”

- James O’Brien, The Courier-Mail



Website by Signature Software